Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

D-06-14-05
Date: June 27, 2014
Bulletin: Dealers

From: Sharon Crow, Manager
Business Licensing and Consumer Services

RE: Legislation

The following are the highlights of the bills that have passed and have a direct impact on dealers:

SB 172 Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2014

This bill extended the date by which the titling fee for rental vehicles would increase from $50 to
$100 from 2014 to 2016. However, based on the Attorney General’s advice that the bill, as
passed, violates the one-subject rule in the Maryland Constitution, the MVA is not enforcing this
provision of the bill and the title fee for rental vehicles will increase to $100 on July 1, 2014.
Effective July 1, 2014

HB S75/SB 221 Farm Area Motor Vehicles - Registration and Authorized Use

This bill expands the distance in which a farm vehicle can operate from a 10 mile radius to a 25
mile radius. It also requires an applicant for farm tags to present the most recent federal tax filing
that shows evidence of active farming status when applying for the tags.

Effective Emergency

HB 882 Motor Vehicles - Low Speed Vehicles - Power Source

This bill alters the definition of a “low speed vehicle” to be a four-wheeled motor, rather than
electric, vehicle that has a maximum speed capability that exceeds 20 miles per hour but is less
than 25 miles per hour. These four-wheeled motor vehicles are now permitted to be registered as
low speed vehicles.

Effective Emergency

HB 246 / SB 389 Motor Vehicles - Inspection Certificates for Used Vehicles — Procedures
This bill requires the Department of State Police (DSP) Automotive Safety Enforcement
Division (ASED) to establish the manner and format for the submission of an inspection
certificate for the transfer of a used vehicle. The bill authorizes the ASED to allow electronic
submission of the inspection certificate, and it requires the division to allow submission of an
inspection certificate form. The bill also makes several changes to the requirements and
procedures governing the issuance and display of used vehicle inspection certificates. Generally,
the bill repeals references to a physical certificate, such as requirements to sign and date a
certificate and to attach or affix a certificate to a vehicle window. The bill also removes the
requirement that certificates be issued without charge by an inspection station. Finally, the bill
requires DSP to report to specified legislative committees regarding the manner of used vehicle
inspection certificate submissions under the bill, including the number of times, on a monthly
basis, each method of submission is used.

Effective Julv 1. 2014
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HB 1345 / SB 908 Electric Vehicles and Recharging Equipment - Rebates and Tax Credits
This bill repeals provisions of law that established a State income tax credit related to installation

of electric vehicle recharging equipment, and sets up, in its place, the Electric Vehicle
Recharging Equipment Rebate Program. Under the program, an individual, business or unit of
State or local government that installs electric vehicle recharging equipment may apply to the
Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) for a rebate of a portion of the costs associated with
purchasing and installing such equipment. The bill also extends the excise tax credit available to
purchasers of electric vehicles, in an amount equal to $125 times the number of kilowatt-hours of
battery capacity of the vehicle or $3,000, whichever is less. Finally, the bill requires the MEA to
report to specified legislative committees on electric vehicle owners’ contributions to the
Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) for construction and maintenance of roadways in the State.
Effective July 1, 2014

HB 344 \ SB 344 Charles County - Sunday Car Sales - Blue Law Exemption
This bill permits Charles County Commissioners, after a public hearing, to adopt an ordinance

authorizing a new or used car dealer in Charles County to sell, barter, deliver, give away, show
or offer for sale a motor vehicle or certificate of title for a motor vehicle on Sunday.
Effective October 1, 2014

Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at mvablcsd@mva. maryland gov.




